Forum Home  →  Discussion  →  Work capability issues and ESA  →  Thread

Failure to return the UC50

1 2 > 

Dan Manville
forum member

Greater Manchester Law Centre

Send message

Total Posts: 470

Now I know not to give much credence to what call handlers tell me but I’ve seen 2 instances of this recently.

Has the process for late UC50s been changed? Fair to say that I’m quite new to UC WCAs so this might have been the case for a while.

One of the call handlers told me they are referred back immediately the deadline passes. Rather than keeping hold of the referral and waiting for the late form, or just completing an assessment anyway they go straight back.

I was trying to warn CHDA that the form would be a few days late due to appointment availability and the handler said “don’t care, they go straight back to UC” just now.

A couple of weeks ago we had a form fill booked in with a support worker for someone with dementia; quite severe dementia, and I went back to advise that the support worker was still off sick a couple of weeks later; maybe a week after the deadline, and it’s already gone back to UC.

This might be a headache…

[ Edited: 24 Oct 2023 at 02:47 pm by Dan Manville ]
annief
forum member

Benefits adviser - Maggie's Centre, Edinburgh

Send message

Total Posts: 107

I’ve had the same problem, they simply send it back and UC issue another form. It didn’t matter that the original UC50 was received late and had all their cancer treatment completed on the back page, we still had to fill it in again.

seand
forum member

Welfare rights officer - Wheatley Homes

Send message

Total Posts: 302

I’ve not seen this, but I know another Edinburgh adviser had the same happen to them. They were told that the UC50 was returned to DWP and destroyed

BP
forum member

Grangemouth CAB

Send message

Total Posts: 7