to

Forum Home  →  Discussion  →  Housing costs  →  Thread

Housing benefit termination appeal

Carolyn McA
forum member

Fife Housing Group

Send message

Total Posts: 7

I am now working for an advice project that’s a partnership of three housing associations. I’ve been asked to appeal a decision to terminate the housing benefit of a tenant who receives ESA with and SDP; he is vulnerable and was rehoused by my employer from local authority housing because of a need for a wheelchair amenity bungalow. I have limited information so far, but I’m looking for a bit of advice on tactics as I have very little experience with housing benefit challenges.
I don’t currently have a decision letter/date for the decision, although I’m visiting the tenant with a support worker to try to locate it on Friday morning. The housing officer has forwarded me email correspondence with the council’s benefits team in which they state that they sent a new HB application form to the tenant the day following his move, but the form was not returned. I know that this would be a legal grounds for termination if the claim, but as the tenant has a daily support worker attending, who among other things deals with his correspondence, I’m a little sceptical that it was ever received. Additionally the housing officer was previously told that the reason for the termination was a break in tenancy, rather than failure to provide information.
If you were me, would you do a speculative appeal to get the information the council hold disclosed, do a SAR for it and take it from there, or something else I haven’t thought of?

Va1der
forum member

Welfare Rights Officer with SWAMP Glasgow

Send message

Total Posts: 706

Was the move within one LA and is the new housing supported accommodation?

Carolyn McA
forum member

Fife Housing Group

Send message

Yes, same LA and no - it’s just a wheelchair amenity bungalow with daily input from Link Living support workers

Va1der
forum member