to

Forum Home  →  Discussion  →  Residence issues  →  Thread

Pension Credit and EU nationals

RosieB
forum member

Community Advisor Sufra N W London

Send message

Total Posts: 2

I currently have a 66 year old Polish gentleman who is homeless, he has been in this country since 2014 and has done Agency work up until December 2017.
The reason he became homeless, was due to a fire in the property he was renting. His paperwork was destroyed and his English is very limited, and he has been sleeping rough.

We arranged for DWP to do a claim with him, its turned down on the grounds of Directive 2004/58/EC.

1 My client does hold a valid Polish Passport which we helped him to acquire for means of an ID and he has correspondence from Inland revenue, but apparently the DWP does not accept letters from the Inland Revenue as evidence.

Can anyone suggest a way forward that my client can claim P/Credit as he is not allowed to claim any of the other benefits due to his age.

I am new to this so any help would be appreciated.
Thanks

Elliot Kent
forum member

Shelter

Send message

Total Posts: 3134

Well question one is - has this client presented as homeless to the local authority? If not, he has to do so right away. If he has and they have refused to help him, then he needs advice from a solicitor immediately.

To access most benefits (and homelessness assistance from the council for that matter), he will need to have a “right to reside”  - i.e. he will need to have some basis under domestic or EU law to live in the UK.