to

Forum Home  →  Discussion  →  Work capability issues and ESA  →  Thread

CESA time barred

sbrown7
forum member

Rutherglen CAB

Send message

Total Posts: 5

Newbie here! Apologises if this is somewhere else, but I can’t see a similar thread.
Cl placed in CESA - WRAG in 2012. Initial DLA claim failed.  2 mths before time expired subsequently passed for DLA - HM stand & move <20m - subsequently reassessed PIP - EM (same reason) & SC. Never been reassessed for ESA. Getting no IESA as partner works f/t. Receives NI credits only.

Cl condition worsened and mobility hence DLA , PIP mobility.

Cl has had no contact by DWP regards ESA for years,. Cl previously told by an advise centre that cant make any other claims as partner f/t.

Q. should the client have to make a new claim for ESA based on worsening condition? if so, would DWP POP paperwork for mobility give ESA SG under sch 3 without a new assessment. Client has never worked since original ESA claim. CPAG pg 645 looks like they could reclaim CESA if they are assessed as SG.

Client has stated they called the DWP ESA when they received DLA but were told it was ok as already getting ESA WRAG. 

Any advise is greatly appreciated.

benefitsadviser
forum member

Sunderland West Advice Project

Send message

Total Posts: 1003

If their ESA stopped purely because of the 365 day rule, as opposed to failing WCA, then their claim should be live, and running in the background to pay the clients NI contributions.

No new claim should be necessary, just a reassesment of existing claim

If so, the client can be reassessed, and if placed in SG the benefit should be reinstated at £109 a week if ive got that right?

Bear in mind though that ESA mobilising descriptor includes wheelchair use, not just walking.

Jon (CANY)
forum member

Welfare benefits - Craven CAB, North Yorkshire

Send message

Total Posts: 1362