× Search rightsnet
Search options

Where

Benefit

Jurisdiction

Jurisdiction

From

to

Forum Home  →  Discussion  →  Access to justice and advice sector issues  →  Thread

Workfare

chris smith
forum member

HB Help, Sussex

Send message

Total Posts: 82

As a housing benefit expert I find I’m increasingly being asked to help voluntary organisations that are heavily involved in workfare- taking on claimants who have been compelled to work for them for nothing (although I’m not asked to advise about the workfare provisions themselves) I’m also finding myself working with organisations that have taken money to try to get their residents off of sickness or unemployment benefits.

My gut instinct is not to work for these organisations.  Like many welfare rights officers I learned my trade fighting attempts to get me and others to work for employers who would never have been able to recruit staff in a free market because of their lousy conditions. It seems to me that there is no reason to now start colluding in this sort of behaviour just because I am fortunate enough to have a job.

But what do others think?  I’m still weighing up what to do.

Andrew Dutton
forum member

Welfare rights service - Derbyshire County Council

Send message

Total Posts: 1965

I would agree that such schemes should be boycotted. They are premised on the ugly assumption that unemployed people don’t want to work and that people with disabilities are shamming and that any work, no matter how worthless or pointless will do (vide making a musuem volunteer work in Poundland)

People should not be required to work for nothing - work should be waged.

[ Edited: 18 Mar 2013 at 02:04 pm by Andrew Dutton ]
Pete C
forum member

Pete at CAB

Send message

Total Posts: 556

chris smith - 17 March 2013 11:20 AM