to

Forum Home  →  Discussion  →  Income support, JSA and tax credits  →  Thread

latvian former worker claim for income support & HB refused

johnny
forum member

money advice, midland heart HA, birmingham

Send message

Total Posts: 39

i’ve been reading rules in cpag about A8 nationals coming to UK, but i’m new to this topic and strugglinmg a bit.  i really need to find a course to attend soon

my client came to UK11/8/06 and worked until 12/2/10 under the worker registration scheme

she had to leave employmnent due to having a child 19/4/10. she claimed income support but was refused and her HB claim that was in payment has now been recovered as an overpayment.

she gets child benefit and child tax credit

as she was employed for more than 12 months, hasn’t she qualified for right to reside and being habitually resident, which the DWP claim she isnt?

as far as i kow she hasnt got a certificate for completing the employment, is this necessary and if so can she still get one now, if she never received it at the time? would a certifcate resolve the problem?

many thanks

Ariadne
forum member

Social policy coordinator, CAB, Basingstoke

Send message

Total Posts: 504

The problem is that untill she has been lawfully resident for 5 years she is in the same position as any other EEA national - she has a right to reside only if she is a worker, which includes a person involuntarily unemployed and signing on for JSA, and also someone temporarily incapable of work for health reasons. Lone parents who claim income support have withdrawn themselves from the labour market and are not workers.
Did she not qualify for statutory maternity pay or maternity allowance? I think (others will put me right) that she remains a worker if she is on maternity leave.

johnny
forum member

Send message

i’m looking at the bottom of page 1446 of cpag handbook, where it states