Forum Home  →  Discussion  →  Work capability issues and ESA  →  Thread

Disqualification of Incapacity Benefit due to imprisonment

Kev@derbys
forum member

Senior WRO, Derbyshire Welfare Rights Service

Send message

Total Posts: 9

Hi all
I have a dilemma that I would appreciate your views on. An IB claimant was sentenced to prison and so his IB was suspended. The individual was in prison for 3 months and when he was released forced to apply for ESA. Is it not the case that the claimant was in incapable of work but not allowed to receive payment of benefits whilst in Prison and on his release the suspended payment should be reinstated or am I reading this completely wrong.

Kevin D
forum member

Independent HB/CTB administrator, consultant & trainer (Essex)

Send message

Total Posts: 474

I am no expert on the techie processes relating to IB / ESA.  However, one random thought did spring to mind and maybe other posters can confirm or despatch accordingly (as well as add a bit of technical know how).

Was IB definitely SUSPENDED or was a proper decision made to the effect there was no longer entitlement?

If merely suspended, I wonder if it could be argued that a “closed period supersession” (“CPS”) should apply to the effect that the “currency” of the IB award never ended and, as such, it remained “live”.  Relevant CD (as a starting point) would be CIS/2595/2003.  Of course, if a gap in entitlement (distinguished from “award”) triggers a switch over to ESA, then the “CPS” argument is dead and buried.

Unfortunately, thereendeth my knowledge (and energy…..).

Kev@derbys
forum member

Senior WRO, Derbyshire Welfare Rights Service

Send message

Total Posts: 9

Hi
The fog is now starting to clear the client has informed me his IB was not suspended but he was disqualified which does put this in a different light, but thanks for your view and comments

Jon (CANY)
forum member

Welfare benefits - Craven CAB, North Yorkshire

Send message

Total Posts: 1362