to

Forum Home  →  Discussion  →  Universal credit migration  →  Thread

Universal Credit Managed Migration Telephone Claim

Ali Javadi
forum member

Bestwood Advice Centre

Send message

Total Posts: 4

Universal Credit have told me that claimants have to call the general enquiry line (0800 328 5644) if they wish to make a telephone claim. Claimants cannot make telephone applications on the migration helpline (0800 169 0328). The migration notice makes no mention of telephone applications, and compounded with the fact that they have to call another (unadvertised) number to make the application, it is a great injustice to those who cannot make an online claim (e.g. those who are disabled or have digital illiteracy.

The issue has been reported to CPAG’s EWS.

[ Edited: 9 Jan 2024 at 06:55 pm by Ali Javadi ]
Tom B (WRAMAS)
forum member

WRAMAS - Bristol City Council

Send message

Total Posts: 456

I’ve no direct experience of this but seen another commenter on here report a while back that when this happens (telephone claim following migration notice being issued) that the telephone claim is not picking up that it is a migration claim and so no transitional protection is being applied. I’d be interested to hear if this happens in your case too.

Rosie W
forum member

Welfare rights service - Northumberland County Council

Send message

Total Posts: 471

I just rang the helpline and asked. Got a very helpful woman who said if someone says they cannot make an online claim they will put them through to the UC helpline and the call will jump any queue. But only if the person says they have all the information to hand to make the claim which I suspect is unlikely.

She also said if the person doesn’t have all the info to hand they will signpost to “services like yourselves” or Citizens Advice.