× Search rightsnet
Search options







Managed migration: an overview

A quick guide to where universal credit managed migration is rolling out, with links to the relevant rightsnet welfare rights news story for more information.

2024/2025: Roll out by benefit

While managed migration was rolled out initially on a geographical basis (see below), the DWP has confirmed that during 2024/2025 it will be dependent on the benefit(s) the claimant is receiving.

Having initially excluded claimants in receipt of ESA only, or ESA and housing benefit only, from the migration process until 2028, the government announced in April 2024 that migration of these groups will be brought forward so that all migration notices will have been sent out by the end of December 2025:

Date (from) Benefit(s) received
April 2024 Income support (and housing benefit); and housing benefit and tax credits
June 2024 Housing benefit only (not supported or temporary accommodation)
July 2024 Employment and support allowance and tax credits (and housing benefit)
August 2024 Tax credits claimants over pension age
Sept 2024 Employment and support allowance only (or ESA and housing benefit only); and jobseeker's allowance (and housing benefit)

NB - roll out was extended across the whole of Northern Ireland for tax credits-only claimants from October 2023 and for tax credits and housing benefit claimants from May 2024.

2023/2024: Geographical rollout

During 2022/2023 and 2023/2024 managed migration was rolled out on a geographical basis until there was coverage across the UK.

NB: 'Most legacy benefits' below includes tax credits, but not currently employment and support allowance only or employment and support allowance with housing benefit.

Quick links: England | Scotland | Wales | Northern Ireland

May 2022
Bolton; and Medway
Most legacy benefits
July 2022
Truro; and Falmouth
Most legacy benefits
Aug 2022
London Borough of Harrow
Most legacy benefits
Sept 2022
Most legacy benefits
Feb 2023
Wider Cornwall area
Tax credits only
April 2023
Avon, Somerset; and Gloucestershire
Tax credits only
May 2023
East London; and Cheshire
Tax credits only
June 2023
Greater Manchester; and North East Yorkshire & Humber
Tax credits only
July 2023
Durham & Tees Valley; Kent; North London; and East Anglia
Tax credits only
Aug 2023
West Yorkshire; Staffordshire & Derbyshire; and South London
Tax credits only
Sept 2023
Cumbria & Lancashire; Essex; Lincolnshire, Nottinghamshire & Rutland; and Dorset, Wiltshire, Hampshire and the Isle of Wight
Tax credits only
Sept 2023
Harrow; Manchester; and Northumberland
Most legacy benefits
Dec 2023
Berkshire, Buckinghamshire and Oxfordshire
Tax credits only
Jan 2024
Northumberland and Tyne & Wear; Leicestershire and Northamptonshire; Devon; and (remaining) Cornwall
Tax credits only
Feb 2024
South Yorkshire; Merseyside; Mercia*; Birmingham and Solihull; Bedfordshire and Hertfordshire; West London; and Surrey and Sussex *Mercia was subsequently brought forward to January 2024
Tax credits only
Mar 2024
Black Country was initially set for March 2024 but was subsequently brought forward to February 2024
Tax credits only
  Scotland Note
Aug 2023 West Scotland Tax credits only
Sept 2023 East Scotland Tax credits only
Oct 2023 Central Scotland Tax credits only
Nov 2023 South West Scotland Tax credits only
Feb 2024
Northern Scotland; and North East Scotland
Tax credits only
  Wales Note
Sept 2023 South West Wales Tax credits only
Oct 2023 South East Wales Tax credits only
Feb 2024
North and Mid Wales
Tax credits only
Northern Ireland Note
April 2023 Andersonstown; and Enniskillen Tax credits only