Forum Home  →  Discussion  →  Housing costs  →  Thread

HB for couple : one a student??

benefitsadviser
forum member

Sunderland West Advice Project

Send message

Total Posts: 1003

Its friday and my head hurts!

I have a couple who rent a property whose rent is 300 a month which is under LHA.

One of those is a student, whose income is 115 a week through a bursary and his partner gets 61.15 a week carers.

Im struggling to do an HB calculation as i know students arent entitled to HB.

Will HB be considered for 50% of liability, meaning £150 a month can be considered as the students half of liability cant be considered? Am i completely misinterpreting this? I have zero experience in HB cases involving couples where one is a student whose income exceeds applicable amount and the other claims CA

As she is only on 61.15 a week (an amount below a single persons allowance) will they get full HB for 50% of the rent? His income + CA + Carers premium not triggering any IR benefits.

Been leafing thru CPAG this morning and cant make head nor tail (its friday : gimme a break!!)

Thanks

Edmund Shepherd
forum member

Tenancy Income, Royal Borough of Greenwich, London

Send message

Total Posts: 508

CPAG p915 may answer your question.

benefitsadviser
forum member

Sunderland West Advice Project

Send message

Total Posts: 1003

So thats a yes then. His partner will qualify for full housing benefit. Thanks

Daphne
Administrator

rightsnet writer / editor

Send message

Total Posts: 3553

My understanding is that they are assessed in the normal way as a couple using the full eligible rent so long as the non-student is the claimant.