Forum Home  →  Discussion  →  Housing costs  →  Thread

Credit Unions and Housing Benefit

Rob SWSAN
forum member

Welfare Advice, SWSAN advice, Glasgow

Send message

Total Posts: 2

Good Morning All

Hoping someone can shine some light on this one. Have been contacted by a client who advises that Falkirk Council are not happy to pay housing benefit into a credit union account and have advised the client they have a blanket policy of not accepting CU accounts for the payment of HB.

I just wanted to check if anyone else has encountered this and if this is within the competence of the LA.

Thanks

Rob

stevenmcavoy
forum member

Welfare rights officer - Enable Scotland

Send message

Total Posts: 872

I never came across this when i worked as an adviser in that area.  Not to say it doesn’t exist just that i didn’t come across it.

I would suggest having a word with the councils welfare rights team to see if they are aware of this or can offer any assistance.

J Membery
forum member

Revenues and Benefits Manager, Aylesbury Vale DC

Send message

Total Posts: 134

Sounds strange. Most of the Revs & Bens Managers (and services) I deal with are very pro-credit union. In some cases a Credit Union account is the only real option open to the claimant.

I don’t see that a blanket policy not to pay a credit union would fit with Reg 91(1)(b)
“the reasonable needs and convenience to the person entitled thereto”

HB Anorak
forum member

Benefits consultant/trainer - hbanorak.co.uk, East London

Send message

Total Posts: 2915

Falkirk Council’s website has a news item from January announcing a grant to the local Credit Union for equipment to allow online banking.  The quoted Council spokesperson refers to a credit union account being a good way to manage bills including rent.  So you would think they wouldn’t have any objection to HB payments going to those accounts.