Forum Home  →  Discussion  →  Housing costs  →  Thread

Bailiff Law - Council Tax Arrears

Shajna Begum
forum member

Advice and Advocacy, EDAS Foundation, Birmingham

Send message

Total Posts: 1

Hi Everyone

I have a single mum who is in arrears with council tax and bailiff is collecting.

The bailiff want £50.00 every fortnight which mum agreed to.  Note mum has language barriers and was petrified when bailiff first visited home and therefore agreed.

We are helping mum and have requested £20.00 per month as mum is claiming JSA.

I am fairly new to bailiff law - does anyone have any advice to offer on how I can get bailiff to accept the £20.00 per month.

Thank you
Razwaana Akhtar
(EDAS Foundation)

nevip
forum member

Welfare rights adviser - Sefton Council, Liverpool

Send message

Total Posts: 3137

Take her to her local CAB and get an expereienced debt adviser to draw up a proper financial statement.

Shajna Begum
forum member

Advice and Advocacy, EDAS Foundation, Birmingham

Send message

Total Posts: 1

Thank you for your reply.

I have drawn up a proper financial statement, despite which they have declined the offer and are adamant that the client pays the initial £50 per fortnight repayment.

What I was after was any bailiff law or anything of the kind which compels them to accept the £20 per month offer.

I hope this adds clarity to my query.

Jon (CANY)
forum member

Welfare benefits - Craven CAB, North Yorkshire

Send message

Total Posts: 1362

A crucial point which you haven’t mentioned: have the bailiffs levied on goods? If so, then any arguments or complaints you make, or any instalment your client defaults on, could just make it more likely that said goods will be removed and auctioned. Any advice really needs to be considered in light of whether the bailiffs have got walking possession.