Search options

Where

Benefit

Jurisdiction

Jurisdiction

From

to

Forum Home  →  Discussion  →  Work capability issues and ESA  →  Thread

I.B. to E.S.A. Migrant loses entitlement but wins appeal. Why no Transitional Addition in backpay and ongoing entitlement?                   

Chris Shannon
forum member

Tribunals officer - St. Ann's Advice Centre, Nottingham

Send message

Total Posts: 2

I have a client who was on I.B. Long Term, Age Addition Under 35. Upon migration lost entitlement (the obligatory 0 points!). Her appeal took place over a year later so she went from (c)esa to (i)esa during her wait. She won her appeal and was placed in the WRA Group. her backdating only included the difference between ESA basic (pending appeal) and ESA WRAG. Her ongoing entitlement if she had received the Transitional Addition would have been a further £11.90p per week. I have been representing at Employment Tribunals for so many years I have learnt not to confuse the law and justice but it seems more than a little unfair that I.B. claimants who would have enjoyed T.A. if they had got through their medicals cannot (it appears) get it reinstated after a successful appeal.

I can see the complexity of conversion legislation and change of circs caused by the 365 days rule. But can anybody give me a simple answer, minus the legalese, that I can convey to my client as to why she can’t get the T.A. backdated and in her ongoing entitlement? It seems so scandalous, has no legal challenge ever been mounted? Or am I wrong and she should get it?

Tom H
forum member

Newcastle Welfare Rights Service

Send message

Total Posts: 783

The short answer is that she should get the TA backdated for one year.  The TA is classed as contributory ESA which is, therefore, time limited after 365 days in the same way as the substantive contributory ESA.