to

Forum Home  →  Discussion  →  Housing costs  →  Thread

HB overpayment offset

benefitsadviser
forum member

Sunderland West Advice Project

Send message

Total Posts: 1003

I am new to this type of query, so apologies if it falls in the realms of the bleedin obvious!

I have just discovered that a client who has been on IB for years has had over 16K in savings, therefore wiping out his HB/CTB entitlement that he has been in receipt of.

The LA thought it was only 8000 and have been paying full HB on this basis, as he is 65 years old on Wednesday and the lower means tested benefit threshold has been 10K for the last 5 years due to his age.

We are going to have to report this change, as when his SRP kicks in on Wednesday the tarriff income + SRP takes him over GPC threshold and therefore disallows HB until his capital reduces to below 16K.

He has been entitled to Guarantee pension credit for 5 years but never made the claim as he didnt know about it. He has been living on his IB, and IB+tarriff income is below GPC threshold, therefore he has been entitled to Guarantee pension credit all this time. His personal allowance for HB will also have been over his income anyway.

As we can prove entitlement for the period can HB recover due to failure to notify of his 18K capital, or will his retrospective entitlement notionally wipe out any overpayment?

Thanks

HB Anorak
forum member

Benefits consultant/trainer - hbanorak.co.uk, East London

Send message

Total Posts: 2914

I see what you are saying, but I am not convinced the HB Regulations will stretch to include secondary underlying entitlement.  What the Council has to look at when calculating an overpayment is whether the claimant would have been entitled to at least some HB on the true facts as they were at the time.  If he never was actually on GC, I don’t think the Council will look at it as if he had been.