Forum Home  →  Discussion  →  Work capability issues and ESA  →  Thread

Anti benefit cuts presentation- help needed

chris smith
forum member

HB Help, Sussex

Send message

Total Posts: 82

Hi’
I’m doing some work for my local anti-cuts group to make a graphic presentation of the absurdities of what I’m calling the “disability points system” for ESA (Can you think of a better populist name than this?)
Unfortunately I’m mainly a housing benefit expert- so can I ask you for your comments on whether the following assessments are correct and fairly put?
1)  For 4 days out of ten you are completely unable to relate to other people or communicate with them because of mental health issues - 0 points
2)  From time to time you have uncontrollable episodes of aggressive or wild behaviour that would be unacceptable in any workplace.- 9 points
3)  You have a learning disability, and because of this and lack of life experience, is have been subject to exploitation and sexual abuse at work in the past -0 points
4)  Can climb 2 steps but no more, even using bannisters and a crutch - 0 points
5)  About every 6 weeks you are likely to lose consciousness on the job. -0 points
Can you think of any other example which succinctly highlights the absurdities of the system.
6)  You have a terminal diagnoses and have been told you have 12 months to live.  At the moment you are comparatively fit, but you cannot lift your hands above your shoulders and cannot lift large light items like cardboard boxes.  -18points.  You will be able to claim benefit but you will be asked to attend interviews designed to get you fit for work in future.
I’m planning to make the presentation freely available on line when its finished.  I’m also doing it as part of my   OU university design course, so I hope to offer you something well designed in due course.
Thanks for your help.

[ Edited: 15 Apr 2013 at 10:29 pm by chris smith ]
benefitsadviser
forum member

Sunderland West Advice Project

Send message