to

Forum Home  →  Discussion  →  Decision making and appeals  →  Thread

Payments on Revision

Amurphy
forum member

Welfare Rights Skye & Lochalsh CAB

Send message

Total Posts: 2

Hi,  I’m new to Welfare Rights and something I wanted to check on is payments during a revision or recon. I’m aware that when a client completes a GL24 and wishes to proceed with an appeal that once their GL24 is received their benefit is released under ‘pending appeal’ rules.  However, Can anyone clarify if the same rules apply if a GL24 isn’t filled out but a reconsideration/revision is asked for?  Basically, does a client receive benefit payments when they are asking for a revision/recon.
Cheers

Jane OP
forum member

The National Autistic Society, Welfare Rights, Nottingham

Send message

Total Posts: 161

Hello and welcome,

I assume you are talking about ESA? If so only submitting an appeal means the ESA carries on being paid. This is because appealing has the effect of extending the assessment phase, asking for a recon doesn’t.

If you are new to welfare rights my top tip is to insist that your organisation buys you a CPAG handbook http://www.cpag.org.uk/publications/WBTCHandbook/default.htm . Every welfare rights worker has one – it is invaluable and great for getting the answers to these questions (and I don’t even work for or have shares in CPAG!)

Jane

Amurphy
forum member

Welfare Rights Skye & Lochalsh CAB

Send message

Total Posts: 2

Thanks Jane, I was talking about ESA so thanks for clarifying.  I had a look at the CPAG book but couldn’t see anything specific to payments during a revision.  Does the same apply to other benefits such as DLA?

Jane OP
forum member

The National Autistic Society, Welfare Rights, Nottingham

Send message

Total Posts: 161

Hi,