Forum Home  →  Discussion  →  Work capability issues and ESA  →  Thread

Definition of the word ‘either’ in ESA descriptors

< 1 2 3 > 

hedgehog
forum member

benefits Gloucester Law Centre

Send message

Total Posts: 3

It looks as if the meaning of this descriptor has indeed changed. As in my previous message in this thread, this has been discussed by the Social Security Committee and is probably now law (although I am no lawyer). The only way to challenge it appears to be if you can prove that your client could not repeat a combination of sitting and standing over a reasonable period in a way that could complete an effective amount of work. For instance, if they found they could not sit repeatedly for over 20 minutes duration effectively, maybe due to pain or through danger to health (the judge would conclude they could “rest” for the remaining 10 mins standing to relieve discomfort sitting), then they could score 9 points. Note this is still not the 15 points specified by the previous criterion.

Even if they could repeat the standing and sitting cycle, you could still try and argue that they could not work effectively in their condition. In this respect it does appear open to challenge, as it depends very much on whether the judge personally thinks the client is capable of productive work, a very subjective measure and one which perhaps the judge has no experience. Perhaps you could ask someone in a work-related capacity, such as a manager of a supermarket, or even your client’s doctor, to provide written confirmation that in their belief the client could not work effectively given their health condition, even with a combination of standing and sitting. They could for instance spend so much time yo-yoing up and down that work would be completely disrupted.

Tom H
forum member

Newcastle Welfare Rights Service

Send message

Total Posts: 783

Scarcab - 05 August 2011 11:05 AM

..... What has shocked us is the revised WCA handbook states: