Paper Based Appeals

1 2 > 

Bcfu
forum member

Blackpool Centre For Unemployed

Send message

Total Posts: 205

Hi

I’ve got 2 clients who wish to do a Paper based appeal rather than a face-to-face/telephone one - I did try to reassure them re. being their in person but to no avail.

I’ve no experience in Paper based appeals so hopefully someone can answer a couple of questions.

1). Do we still get sent an appeal bundle?

2). Do we get notified of when they’ll be making their decision? I normally write a submission so will I need to do almost straight away?

3). Do we need to give reasons for a Paper based hearing and can they turn our request down?

Thanks

Adam

Elliot Kent
forum member

Shelter

Send message

Total Posts: 3134

1) Yes
2) No
3) Sort of. The Tribunal must hold a hearing if any party requests one. Beyond this the Tribunal may decide that the case is inappropriate for resolution without a hearing and decide to hold a hearing despite one not being requested. See rule 27.

I have to say that in a typical case, I would refuse to take the case if the client was insisting on going ahead without a hearing against advice. The statistic I always remember (although I don’t know if it is still accurate) is that there is about an 80% success rate in appeals where you have a hearing and 20% if not. You can’t expect to do a competent job as a representative if the client is going to undermine their case at the very first step.

Mike Hughes
forum member

Senior welfare rights officer - Salford City Council Welfare Rights Service

Send message

Total Posts: 3138

I think the stats are more realistically around 80% with a rep for an oral hearing and around 5 to 8% for paper hearings. Latter was an internal HMCTS stat not published because it obviously raises some serious questions.

To build further on Elliot’s answer.