to

Forum Home  →  Discussion  →  Decision making and appeals  →  Thread

UT Advice Rule 40(3)(b)

flair
forum member

Welfare rights officer - Linstone Housing Association

Send message

Total Posts: 53

Hi, as I am a relative novice when it comes to UT I am looking for some help and guidance if possible.

After being refused permission to Appeal to UT by FTT, I appealed directly and this was accepted by UT.

I have now been sent a UT Judge’s direction referring to rule 40(3)(b) which from reading I believe is to shorten procedures, by sending the case back to a FTT asap, without reasons being given.

I am unsure if this is common and I’m not sure this is really what I want - I would have preferred the UT Judge(s) to remake the decision based on the evidence already held, but obviously don’t want to make matters worse for my client.

If I do not accept the shortened procedure then is the timescale for the UT to deal with it likely to be inordinately long.

Appreciate any guidance.

Thanks Greg

past caring
forum member

Welfare Rights Adviser - Southwark Law Centre, Peckham

Send message

Total Posts: 1125

Even if 40(3)(b) is used very brief reasons will be given - they just won’t be voluminous.

Full reasons probably won’t delay things hugely - probably only 3-4 weeks if the case is straightforward.

The issue of the UT substituting its own decision is quite different - it will only do this if a) the FtT found sufficient facts to enable the UT to substitute its own decision and b) the facts as found by the FtT aren’t in dispute - i.e. the only way the FtT went wrong was in applying the law to the facts it found. These cases do happen but they are relatively rare - most cases involve the FtT not making sufficient findings of fact, or its findings of fact not being supported by the evidence (in which case those findings fall away and new findings of fact need to be made).