to

Forum Home  →  Discussion  →  Income support, JSA and tax credits  →  Thread

Disability Element following DLA ending

unhindered by talent
forum member

Welfare Rights Team, Aberdeenshire Council

Send message

Total Posts: 445

The one benefit I have very little experience of is WTC and the history of this pre-dates my involvement so I would appreciate your advice.

Client’s DLA ended last May and so did disability element of WTC. He argued that, at the time he first claimed WTC, he had been in receipt of DLA AND Income Support (on the grounds of disability) & HB with disability premium so even if DLA ended, they could have awarded it because of IS and HB disability premiums. Disability element was reinstated and they told him it was for a year. Does this sound feasible?

This year, on renewal, he ticked the box to say nothing had changed and disability element is included again even though they know his DLA ended a year ago. Could he be getting it under condition G on the basis of WTC disability element or HB disability premium being in payment to date, or should he inform them they’ve made an error?

If he is overpaid WTC, will housing benefit make up the underpayment (his HB is reduced because of disability element)?

Many thanks

[ Edited: 10 Aug 2018 at 07:11 pm by unhindered by talent ]
Jon (CANY)
forum member

Welfare benefits - Craven CAB, North Yorkshire

Send message

Total Posts: 1362

If he is overpaid WTC, will housing benefit make up the underpayment (his HB is reduced because of disability element)?

No, the WTC was actually received at the time, there is no HB provision that pretends otherwise in the event of an HMRC overpayment decision. If anything, there may be a HB overpayment - if the disability element of WTC was the only passport to the disability element of HB, then I think the council should revise to remove that premium.