Forum Home  →  Discussion  →  Disability benefits  →  Thread

PIP Reassessment

1 2 > 

tom sangster
forum member

Welfare Reform - Colchester Borough Council

Send message

Total Posts: 1

I’m relatively new to PIP so would welcome some advice….

I have a customer who was awarded PIP Daily Living in October 2016.  She then informed the DWP that her condition had got worse.  She was called in for a reassessment, I think without completing a PIP2 and awarded 0 points.

I spoke to the DWP, who informed me that they can request a reassessment at any time and had done so on the basis that the customer informed them of a change in circumstances.

It may be that the only option is to appeal in the normal way.  My question is, is this something that the DWP can do?  And does the calling in for a reassessment provide any grounds for appeal in it’s own right?

thanks

Tom

Dan_Manville
forum member

Mental health & welfare rights service - Wolverhampton City Council

Send message

Total Posts: 2262

It’s pretty common practice Tom. There is provision for them to review on a whim; they don’t need to make out grounds.

If the original award was made by a Tribunal it gets a bit more complex.

John Birks
forum member

Welfare Rights and Debt Advice - Stockport Council

Send message

Total Posts: 1064

Dan Manville - 20 October 2017 01:05 PM

It’s pretty common practice Tom. There is provision for them to review on a whim; they don’t need to make out grounds.

If the original award was made by a Tribunal it gets a bit more complex.

I don’t entirely agree -

They can review on a whim. In this case the claimant asked them to (unwittingly or otherwise.)

IMO to revoke or modify the previous award does require either a **Relevant** Change of Circumstances or a mistake as to fact (for instance) on the previous award - if a descriptor or more was awarded wrongly, for instance.

Elliot Kent
forum member

Shelter

Send message

Total Posts: 3117