Forum Home  →  Discussion  →  Decision making and appeals  →  Thread

Overpayment Appeal

Bcfu
forum member

Blackpool Centre For Unemployed

Send message

Total Posts: 205

Hi

Hoping someone can point me in the right direction regarding benefit overpayments. Firstly, let me start by saying I’m not very experienced with overpayment rules and legislation.

As a charity (and myself as an adviser) have never really dealt with Overpayments at the appeal stages - we now, however, have 4 new overpayment appeals (varying stages and benefits).

Is there an online resources, similar to pipinfo.net, that gives an overview of the legislation and case law that I should look at when preparing my appeals? Or even a good resource book that we could buy?

Is there any guidance on written submission for appeals (I’ve used a few tips from here and other books in the past for PIP/ESA appeals)?

On final and very specific question, if an appeal references video surveillance do I get a copy of this or can I request a copy? I have issues with one client where I really do need to see the footage to get the context out of it.

Thanks

Adam

ROBBO
forum member

Welfare rights team - Stockport Advice

Send message

Total Posts: 334

I would have thought the CPAG Welfare Benefits Handbook would be the place to start - there’s a chapter on overpayments which of course references useful caselaw. 

If video surveillance has been used in the decision-making process, the appeal response should definitely include this (directions request if not).  It’s been so long since this was an issue for me, the last time I was involved with such an appeal it was on video tape, but surely things have moved on since then.

It’s remarkable how many overpayment appeal issues develop once you have sight of the papers, even when it doesn’t look very promising to start with.

Bcfu
forum member

Blackpool Centre For Unemployed

Send message

Total Posts: 205