Forum Home  →  Discussion  →  Housing costs  →  Thread

Housing Benefit Entitlement for Young people living in supported accommodation

Alzi20
forum member

Service manager, Centrepoint, London

Send message

Total Posts: 2

Hello all,

I will want to know if anyone has the regulation to back a research I am currently doing for young homelessness clients. I work in the sector and I have realised that within the same borough when some people are in employment regardless of their earnings, they still receive full housing benefit as part of the exempt group but others do not get the same treatment. Can someone kindly help me with the regulation regarding benefit entitlement for young vulnerable people living in a supported accommodation and being in employment. I believe there is meant to be an exemption for such clients regardless of their earnings to get them started in life.

Below is the question I asked UC;

I’ve got a query that I’m hoping you can assist with. As you’ll know, if someone lives in supported exempt accommodation they’ll still be claiming HB for their rent, but UC for their standard allowance.
If someone enters work, we would expect their UC standard allowance to decrease but what should happen to their HB?
In some cases we are seeing young people retain the entirety of their HB (i.e all of their rent is covered regardless of income) and in other cases we are seeing deductions taken from their HB claim as they begin to earn. The deductions mean that the incentive to work is removed.
Do you have any information as to what should happen to someone’s HB if they are in supported exempt accommodation and enter work?
We have one resident who is now in substantial arrears because she entered work but then saw her HB reduce to a level which made her accommodation unaffordable

Thanks for the support

unhindered by talent
forum member

Welfare Rights Team, Aberdeenshire Council

Send message

Total Posts: 447