to

Forum Home  →  Discussion  →  Income support, JSA and tax credits  →  Thread

tax credits appeal?

dizzymare
forum member

Welfare benefits adviser - Dudley MBC

Send message

Total Posts: 318

up until recent times, I have had good success where a claimant has had an over payment at either getting the issue resolved via the dispute procedure or getting the over payment written off.  I have very little experience of actually going to appeal on tax credits (The ones I have done have been mainly LTAHAW decisions). The willingness to at least consider disputes seems to have gone well and truly out of the window since UC and I just get standard 3 months to dispute tough! letters now

I have a very frustrating situation and Im wondering if we might be able to appeal?

client self employed in 15/16; got a new job April 2016 and called 7/04/16 (so in 16/17 tax year to report new job and estimated income for 16/17). Operator made an error and input new income into 15/16 tax year which bought award to an end and created an overpayment.

Client contacted TCO who admitted their mistake and said they would sort it out.
Letter sent to client asking for final income for 15/16 so that they could correct error and recalculate. Client sends tax return by recorded delivery to address on letter, and has a receipt. She moves house shortly afterwards. She doesn’t update TCO because she was told error would be corrected and knows not due WTC on new income. Hears nothing more until she claims UC and up pops the overpayment.  Clt tried to resolve - no success. gets usual 3 months to dispute etc.