to

Forum Home  →  Discussion  →  Work capability issues and ESA  →  Thread

Quality of Medical Evidence

SocialJustice
forum member

Benefits Caseworker, Citizens Advice Bromley

Send message

Total Posts: 4

I am a new Caseworker Trainee and am struggling to get responses to my evidence requests to GPs.
Most of my clients do have some form of medical evidence, such as letters from GPs and consultants confirming diagnoses and prescriptions, as well as briefly outlining how the condition affects the client.

However, from the various information I have been given, it is unclear to me whether this is considered sufficient by the Tribunal, or whether they expect a full descriptor-based report such as recommended by Leicester Welfare Rights Service guides and templates.

Furthermore, even if I were able to obtain full descriptor-based reports from all the GP’s, I am a little concerned that they will tick 0 for a lot of the less obvious descriptors due to time constraints and the fact they are often not familiar with the relevant law or indeed the points system?

I am aware of options to request medical records based on data protection legislation as well as the option to ask the Tribunal to give directions.

ClairemHodgson
forum member

Solicitor, SC Law, Harrow

Send message

Total Posts: 1221

in any event, have you the money to pay the gp for said report?

and bear in mind that the fact that someone has a diagnosis of whatever is not relevant to whether or not they can or cannot do the relevant tasks reliably repeatedly etc. 

and also, unless it’s something obvious, will a gp in fact know whether or not the particular patient can do the particular thing?  probably not.

benefitsadviser
forum member

Sunderland West Advice Project

Send message

Total Posts: 1003