to

Forum Home  →  Discussion  →  Benefits for older people  →  Thread

Pension Credit - AIPs and recalculation of entitlement

Ianb
forum member

Macmillan benefits team, Citizens Advice Bristol

Send message

Total Posts: 958

Claimant received State Pension, occupational pension and small amount of Savings Pension Credit.

Benefits calculator indicates no PC entitlement unless occupational pension is ignored. Given age of claimant they may have an indefinite AIP so the award may be correct.

My question is about what happens if they do have an AIP and they become eligible to have Severe Disability Addition included in calculation of PC entitlement.

It doesn’t look as if this is a change that would end the AIP so I infer AIP would continue and pension will still be ignored but I have no previous experience of this. Is this correct?

Gareth Morgan
forum member

CEO, Ferret, Cardiff

Send message

Total Posts: 1995

I had some meetings with DWP on the ending of AIPs and my notes simply say ...“any indefinite AIPs for over-75s which were in place by 6th April 2016 will be respected until a major life event”.

Major life events traditionally include
Death of a loved one.
Divorce.
Moving.
Major illness or injury.
Job loss.

If qualifying for SDA follows major illness or injury, then ....

I’ll try to dig into the rules but I’m a bit pressed for time at the moment.

Gareth Morgan
forum member

CEO, Ferret, Cardiff

Send message

Total Posts: 1995

And then I turn over the page and find:
“Freedom of Information request 636/2014 Received 10 February 2014
It may be worth noting, however, that the Government is proposing to abolish assessed income periods. ...

The intention is that indefinite assessed income periods already in place at 6 April 2016 will continue until they end under the existing rules (for example, if a person enters a care home permanently).

The DMG lists those circumstances:

83050   An AIP of any length will end at any time at which