to

Forum Home  →  Discussion  →  Income support, JSA and tax credits  →  Thread

When does a Tax Credit claim end?

Ianb
forum member

Macmillan benefits team, Citizens Advice Bristol

Send message

Total Posts: 958

Apologies for asking what feels like a silly question but Tax Credits remain a bit of a mystery to me. They’ve been phasing them out ever since I started doing benefits advice and so I have limited experience dealing with them.

Client currently receives WTC. Has not worked for a while due to illness but is treated as working because receiving SSP. The SSP will end in March before the end of this tax year so entitlement to WTC will end. However all being well client will return to work later in 2022.

I am not clear whether the WTC claim will have been closed in March when SSP ends and client can no longer be treated as in work or whether it can persist as a nil entitlement award.. I would like it to be the latter so client could qualify for payment again when returning to work but I fear it is the former (which seems more likely).

Client is excluded from UC due to savings so that isn’t an option.

chacha
forum member

Benefits dept - Hertsmere Borough Council

Send message

Total Posts: 472

Not exactly my forte but see an earlier thread, actually just a few below your post, so it is all about times/periods of the absence?

https://www.rightsnet.org.uk/forums/viewthread/17192/

Ianb
forum member

Send message

Thanks chacha. My question is different. That threads refers to being treated as still in work while getting SSP which is the situation my client is in now. I know they will still be off work when SSP ends at which time they will no longer be treated as in work. My question is does that end the claim completely or result in a nil entitlement award as we go into 2022-23?

chacha
forum member

Benefits dept - Hertsmere Borough Council

Send message

Total Posts: 472

Hi Ianb,