Search options

Where

Benefit

Jurisdiction

Jurisdiction

From

to

Forum Home  →  Discussion  →  Universal credit administration  →  Thread

DWP have incorrect earning details. Help!

benefitsadviser
forum member

Sunderland West Advice Project

Send message

Total Posts: 1003

I have a client who earned £5000 in a 5 month period, at £1000 a month.
Her boss reported to HMRC that she was paid that in the tax year, however it was processed that she got all of the money in april by mistake. UC has stopped, and also applies a couple of months ahead due to surplus earnings rule.
She has called them, uploaded bank statements, wage slips and asked for an MR.
Get this : DWP staff ACCEPT she never got the money in 1 AP but are saying there is nothing they can do as they have to follow what was reported. They also haven’t returned her mandatory reconsideration as not revised even though they refuse to change their mind.
I am new to the procedures for UC and I need this sorting : they are in breach of Reg54 (1) that states actual earnings must be assessed to calculate entitlement.
Can anyone give me an address or email to escalate this. as usual DWP are saying there is no case managers or supervisors to talk to when she requests to take it further. They simply don’t give a monkeys

Thanks

NeverSayNo
forum member

Welfare rights department - Northumberland County Council

Send message

Total Posts: 195

Hi benefitsadviser

In my experience the DWP are using UC regs 2013 reg 61 - which basically says they use information on earnings reported from HMRC. This would mean they only accept that she got it all paid in one month as HMRC reported this (possibly relying on whatever her employer did).

Reg 61 (3) does allow the DWP not to use HMRC information if they think it is wrong (“sufficiently accurate or timely”). This seems to be a power (may) rather than a duty not to use the information from HMRC.