Search options

Where

Benefit

Jurisdiction

Jurisdiction

From

to

Forum Home  →  Discussion  →  Other benefit issues  →  Thread

is there a way to confirm if EEA national never claimed benefits in the UK??

Sue123
forum member

EEA Family Support, Children's Centre Calderdale

Send message

Total Posts: 135

Hi
I wanted to ask.
I have a client and they are visiting family in the UK from the Czech Republic.
She said that she needs a confirmation from social security that she never claimed benefits in the UK, she will need to prove this in the Czech Republic so they continue paying her benefits there.
does anyone know if there is a way to get this confirmation?
I have never done this before but there must be a way to confirm if someone claimed benefits in the UK or not.

thank you!

forum member

Deputy Manager, Reading Community Welfare Rights Unit

Send message

Total Posts: 1711

Wouldn’t the Czech authorities accept bank statements to confirm nothing has been paid to her?

I just can’t see anyone at the DWP being prepared to ‘put it in writing’....

Sue123
forum member

Send message

Apparently they need to see an official letter from DWP. I didn’t think they would do that either but Czech social security office wants this.
The lady doesn’t have a bank statement. She is visiting a family but not sure why she applied for NINO.

forum member

Deputy Manager, Reading Community Welfare Rights Unit

Send message

Total Posts: 1711

Does sound a bit odd doesn’t it? Why apply for a NINO if you’re just making a temporary family visit? Can’t help thinking there’s more going on. Does she not have a bank account? How are her Czech benefits paid to her?