to

Forum Home  →  Discussion  →  Work capability issues and ESA  →  Thread

WCA: HCP provided with IB85 awarding nil points from 2004

Pernish
forum member

Welwyn Hatfield CAB - Adviser

Send message

Total Posts: 75

I am new to appeals but just wondered if DWP usually includes past reports. Don’t know if there was an appeal in 2004 or what happened next but cl has been on IS on grounds of incapacity since November 2007. At best seems irrelevant and at worst possibly prejudicial..

Dan_Manville
forum member

Mental health & welfare rights service - Wolverhampton City Council

Send message

Total Posts: 2262

They don’t usually include IB65s in the assessment process. I’ve seen forty or so ESA55s (that’s the list of ingredients of the ESA assessment file) for conversion cases and not one IB65.

Pernish
forum member

Send message

Sorry but this was not an IB65 (I think that’s the notification to the claimant?) but an IB85 - a Medical Report Form - produced in 2004…

Peter Turville
forum member

Welfare rights worker - Oxford Community Work Agency

Send message

Total Posts: 1659

It’s not unknown for previous IB/ESA 85’s to be included particularly in ‘migration’ cases. There is a string of UtT decisions concerning the relevance of previous reports and if/when DWP should include them.

We find that whether they are included is random with no explanation of why any previous report(s) was / was not included. We also find DWP are selective in what previous evidence they do include. For example, they will include an old 85 but not any additional evidence the claimant provided or the outcome of any appeal against any previous decision(s).

Pernish
forum member

Send message